29 May 2010 @ 19:00

International Festival of New Music, Krakow, Poland



49 49 people viewed this event.


Gustav Mahler Kindertotenlieder
György Ligeti: The Mysteries of Grand Macabre
Arnold Schönberg: Walzer für Streichorchester
Arnold Schönberg: Das Wappenschild; Sehnsucht (Textvorlage: Des Knaben Wunderhorn)
Reinhard Fuchs descrittivi di stati d’animo di Didone
Zaid Jabri: In Memoriam Solhi Al Wadi
Roman Berger: Suite in the Old Style


MIKAMO Central European Chamber Orchestra
Conductor: Ajtony Csaba
Soprano solo: Dóra Ármansdóttir

2010 will be celebrated as the 150th birthday of the world-renowned composer and pioneer of new music. We show the important reformer in the mirror of our time. Gustav Mahler is first introduced as a death-wisher who sees childhood and death as two points of rest to strive for, in the midst of which life is in constant tension. In return, Ligeti’s work makes fun of death and puts it into perspective in a no less serious social criticism. After a short break, works by young composers from Central Europe follow, which relate to the Mahler piece and theme played but function as independent works.
In honour of Professor Berger’s 80th birthday, his significant life’s work will be honoured as the conclusion of Mahler.reflected concerts in the Central European region as part of the International Festival of Modern Music in Kraków.

To register for this event please visit the following URL:


Date And Time

2010-05-29 @ 07:00 PM

Event Types


Event Category

Share With Friends